Home > NEWS > Ending 2009 with style!

Ending 2009 with style!

December 30th, 2009


A last message for this year, just coming back home from some intense days of DEW-SCENTED rehearsals. We are currently working our way through 12 new own songs and some extra tracks. The album recordings are coming up in February. Can’t wait…

And, even though DEW-SCENTED didn’t realease any own new music (or maybe actually because of that, haha!), there was a ton of other great new stuff released in 2009. Here is an overview (in no particular order!) with some of the bands / albums we enjoyed ourselves, recommending you to give these a listen:

Leif (Vocals):

* Sacrifice – „The Ones I Condemn“
Probably the best Thrash Metal record 2009! Welcome back, guys! Those riffs KILL and Rob’s vocals are amazing!
* Raised Fist – „Veil Of Ignorance“
Amazing energy, live and on record! Great follow-up to their „Sound Of The Republic“ masterpiece!
* Heaven And Hell – „The Devil You Know“
Can’t go wrong with DIO and good riffs!
* Asphyx – „Death…The Brutal Way“
Old-school Death Metal returns at its heaviest!
* The Gaslight Anthem – „The `59 Sound“
Technically a 2008 release but I only discovered its class this year!
* Behemoth – „Evangelion“
The masters of modern extreme Death/Black Metal! Amazing production!
* Delain – „April Rain“
It’s probably the title track alone that did it for me! Yeah…Poppy Gothic Metal, but good!
* Paramore – „Brand New Eyes“
High level of infectious catchiness here…
* Megadeth – „Endgame“
Fine return to form and loads of classy shredding!
* Vektor – „Black Future“
Just discovering this great new technical Thrash Metal outfit. Check: www.myspace.com/vektor

Alex (Bass):

* Raised Fist – „Veil Of Ignorance“
* The Black Eyed Peas – „The E.N.D.“
* Baroness – „Blue Record“
* Heaven And Hell – „The Devil You Know“
* Alice In Chains – „Black Gives Way To Blue“
* Vomitory – „Carnage Euphoria“
* Despondency – „Revelation IV (Rise of The Nemesis)“
* Behemoth – „Evangelion“

Michael (Guitar):

* The Empire Shall Fall – „Awaken“
* Journey – „Revelation“
Technically a 2008 release but I only discovered it for me this year!
* Chevelle – „Vena Sera“
Not brand-new either…
* Cynic – „Traced In Air“
Again, from 2008 but still on heavy rotation here!

Martin (Guitar):

* COG – „Sharing space“
* Inme – „Herald Moth“
* Hardcore Superstar – „Beg For It“
* Motorjesus – „100.000 Volt Survivor“ EP
* Paradise Lost – „Faith Divides Us – Death Unites Us“
* Switchtense – „Confrontation Of Souls“
* Mastodon – „Crack The Skye“
* Slayer – „World Painted Blood“
* Kiss – „Sonic Boom“
* Megadeth – „Endgame“
* Maylene And The Sons Of Disaster – „III“
* Heaven And Hell – „The Devil You Know“

Marc (Drums):

* Chickenfoot – „Chickenfoot“
* Katatonia – „Night Is The New Day“
* Nile – „Those Whom The Gods Detest“
* Behemoth – „Evangelion“
* Megadeth – „Endgame“
* Slayer – „World Painted Blood“
* Trap Them – „Seizures In Barren Praise“
Technically from 2008 but only on my top list this year!
* Sacrifice – „The Ones I Condemn“
* Vomitory – „Carnage Euphoria“
* Heaven And Hell – „The Devil You Know“

And, did you know that DEW-SCENTED vocalist Leif did some guest appearances for other bands’ recordings in 2009?! He can currently be heard doing background vocals on two songs of the new album „The Essence Of Anger“ by fellow german Thrash Metallers CONTRADICTION (www.myspace.com/contradictionmetal) as well as on the new song „Suffer The Wreck“ by former touring buddies HURTLOCKER from Chicago / USA (www.myspace.com/hurtlocker1). Check them both out!

OK, now better make sure to head out and celebrate the ending of another year and look out for a heavy 2010!

Be well,


Author: Categories: NEWS Tags:
Comments are closed.